Meet All The Pro-Choice Women Victorious In Last Night’s Election!

Oh my God, you guys. I didn’t realize just how BIG us pro-choice feminists won last night’s election until compiling this list. It’s not just that we have more four years of President Obama — we also have our first openly gay person to serve in the Senate, the first Asian-American women in both the House and Senate, the first Hindu to serve in Congress, and several other “firsts” too numerous to list.

I could honestly not be prouder to be a progressive American than I am today. And yes, I’m including 2008 in that statement! After the jump, thanks to EMILY’S List, here is a list of all the pro-choice female politicians who won last night.

  • Tammy Baldwin for Senator of Wisconsin. Baldwin will be the first openly gay person to serve in the Senate and the first woman to be a senator in Wisconsin.
  • Senator Claire McCaskill of Missouri. Re-elected, having defeated “legitimate rape” neanderthal Todd Akin!
  • Senator Dianne Feinstein of California. Re-elected!
  • Elizabeth Warren for Senator of Massachusetts. Warren is the first-ever woman senator in MA.
  • Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York. Re-elected!
  • Tulsi Gabbard for Representative of Hawaii. Gabbard will be the first Hindu to serve in Congress, as well as one of the first female combat veterans to serve in Congress.
  • Grace Meng for Representative of New York. Meng will be the first Asian-American to represent New York in the House of Representatives..
  • Mazie Hirono for Senator of Hawaii. Hirono will be the first Asian-American woman in the Senate and will be Hawaii’s first-ever female senator.
  • Senator Maria Cantwell of Washington state. Re-elected!
  • Maggie Hassan for Governor of New Hampshire. Hassan will be the only pro-choice Democratic woman governor in the country.
  • Representative Lois Capps of California. Re-elected!
  • Senator Debbie Stabenow of Michigan. Re-elected!
  • Senator Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota. Re-elected!
  • Lois Frankel for Representative in Florida. Frankel will be the first-ever woman to represent  her district in the House of Representatives.
  • Carol Shea-Porter for Representative of New Hampshire. 
  • Suzan DelBene for Representative of Washington state. 
  • Gloria Negrete McLeod for Representative of California. 
  • Michelle Lujan Grisham for Representative of New Mexico. 
  • Joyce Beatty for Representative in Ohio.
  • Cheri Bustos for Representative in Illinois! Bustos will be the first-ever woman to represent her district in the House of Representatives.
  • Representative Louise Slaughter of New York. Re-elected!
  • Ann McLane Kuster for Representative of New Hampshire.
  • Elizabeth Esty for Representative of Connecticut.  
  • Diane Titus for Representative of Nevada. 
  • Tammy Duckworth for Representative of Illinois. Duckworth is an Iraq War veteran and  the first Asian-American woman elected to Congress in Illinois. (Thanks to reader Monica for the reminder!)
  • Julia Brownley for Representative of California. 

If I left anyone out of this list, I sincerely apologize — email me at [email protected] and I’ll pop her right in.

And if you want to pour a glass or three of bubbly and Diane Sawyer-out in celebration, you won’t hear any complaints from us.

[EMILY’S List]

Contact the author of this post at [email protected] Follow me on Twitter.