Sweet Release: What’s In And Out The Week of November 11th 2008


  • Taylor Swift Fearless
    A few 18-year-olds are releasing records today, but she’s already been on the Billboard charts. Taylor’s new country album is about love, so I guess the title, “Fearless,” is appropriate. But I’m more excited to see what she’s planning on doing with Def Leopard.
  • The Flaming Lips Christmas On Mars
    The trippy troubadours have taken seven years to make another masterpiece of freaky space age songs. Sadly, this CD/DVD is just the fantasy we need as Phoenix, the little Mars rover that could, died alone in the cold winter night.
  • Yes We Can Voices From The Grass Root Movement
    To commemorate the week anniversary of Barack Obama’s win, the first ever Presidential compilation record of the songs and speeches from his campaign has been put together by his singing supporters like Stevie Wonder, John Mayer, John Legend and Sheryl Crow. All proceeds go directly to the successful Obama-Biden Campaign.
  • Butch Walker Sycamore Meadows
    A little too indie for his own good, this Billy Crudup lookalike sings about girlfriends in skinny jeans and whiskey to an upbeat pop orchestration.
  • David Archuleta Self-Titled
    He was nearly crowned the new “American Idol,” but hey, he still got a record deal from Jive. Not too shabby for a barely legal babe!
  • Debra Cox The Promise
    Cox who is known making songs da club, has chilled out this winter with heartbreak.
  • Grace Jones Hurricane
    The androgynous art disco diva drums up another dirty dance record. With the help of Brian Eno, she turns yet another mutha out!
  • Seal Soul
    Like Tony Bennett and Rod Stewart before him, Seal has made an album of classic tracks. True to its title, they’re soul standards like “Stand By Me” and “A Change Is Gonna Come” that Seal makes his own.
  • Tracy Chapman Our Bright Future
    One of the most talented singer/songwriters celebrates her 20 year career by releasing yet another amazing album of her personal sonic poetry. Tracks like “I Did It All” has her singing like Ella Fitzgerald about the past, but it seems her title, “Our Bright Future,” will be a self-fulfilling prophecy since keeps making beautiful records.
  • T-Pain Thr33 Ringz
    Dirty South rap star T-Pain releases a high-concept record with more all-stars than the Dream Team. Diddy, Akon, Chris Brown, T.I., Kanye West, Mary J. Blige, Lil Wayne and Ciara lend their talents to create a three-ring circus in the recording studio.