Soundtrack To The DNC: Hillary Clinton’s Dream Playlist

Politicians aren’t exactly known for having musical taste, but you would expect the people who throw big events like, I dunno, the Democratic National Convention, would do a better job of picking cool music to introduce some of their most important speakers. That’s why it struck me as an odd choice to have Hillary Clinton walk onto the stage two nights ago to the blaring accompaniment of Lenny Kravitz’s “Are You Gonna Go My Way?”, “You Really Got Me” by The Kinks, and “American Girl” by Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers. Now, I have nothing against the latter two songs (I could take or leave Lenny), but the message of the songs themselves are predictable and a bit on the wimpy side considering the strength of Hillary’s campaign. That’s why we put together our own list of dream songs that should have played background to Hillary’s big moment. That list, plus what we hope Barack Obama will walk out to tonight, after the jump!Hillary Clinton’s DNC Playlist:
1. “Survivor” by Destiny’s Child
2. “Can’t Hold Us Down” by Christina Aguilera and Lil’ Kim
3. “Foxy Lady” by Jimi Hendrix
4. “Get Your Hands Off My Woman” by The Darkness
5. “Fujiyama Mama” by Wanda Jackson
6. “I Am Woman” by Helen Reddy
7. “Hollaback Girl” by Gwen Stefani
8. “These Boots Are Made for Walking” by Nancy Sinatra
9. “Rock Star” by Hole
10. “No More Drama” by Mary J. Blige

Barack Obama’s DNC Playlist:

1. “Stronger” by Kanye West
2. “Fight The Power” by Public Enemy
3. “What’s Goin’ On” by Marvin Gaye
4. “Give The People What They Want” by The O’Jays
5. “Chocolate City” by Parliament
6. “Brown Eyed Handsome Man” by Nina Simone
7. “Wake Up” by Arcade Fire
8. “Changes” by 2Pac
9. “Times They Are A-Changin'” by Bob Dylan
10. “Dream On” by Aerosmith